Changing a Channel Type

Channels are used to facilitate group communications within your network. An unlimited number of channels can be created for a network, and an unlimited number of users can be added as members to each channel; that said, a channel can only support 10000 active members at a time.

Note: Click here to learn how to create a channel. 

Channel types allow admins to define the channel users' capabilities and functions. While a channel's type is initially set when the channel is created, it can also be retroactively changed (see the Changing a channel's type section at the bottom of this article.).

There are four types of channels, each of which carry unique user functions:

 

Team

Dynamic

Hidden

Dispatch

Users see and can talk to others on the channel

Yes

Yes

No

No

Users see and can talk to others in their contact list

Yes

No

Yes

No

Users can disconnect from the channel

No

Yes

No

For dispatcher: Yes
For driver: No

  • Team Channels are ideal for those who need to communicate often, such as teams, departments, and workgroups. All channel members will be automatically added to each user's contact list, which subsequently allows users to contact each other for one-to-one communications.

  • Dynamic Channels allow users to connect and disconnect from a channel using their device on an as-needed basis, which is beneficial for groups that don't require being online at all times. For example, a supervisor can connect to a dynamic channel when they want to briefly talk with their team, and then disconnect from the channel when done. This ultimately helps prevent communication queues from being overwhelmed. Users in this channel will not be able to see each other in the Contacts tab or talk 1:1. 

  • Hidden Channels allow users to communicate one-on-one with other users in their contacts list. That said, hidden channels prevent users from broadcasting their message to a larger channel. Hidden channels will not appear in the app's Channels tab.

  • Dispatch Channels allow:
    a) Dispatchers to hear and see all drivers' calls on the Dispatch Hub desktop app
    b) Drivers to call in from their Android/iOS applications and enter a shared call queue handled by dispatchers. Once a call is picked up by a dispatcher, the conversation is 1:1 (dispatcher:driver). Drivers can never hear other drivers' calls or conversations.

Changing a channel's type

The channel type can be changed at any point by a network admin via the management console.

  1. Log in to the Management Console (yournetworkname.zellowork.com) and select Channels from the taskbar.

  2. Select the channel that needs to be changed.
    Screenshot 2024-05-09 at 11.10.56 PM.png
  3. Under Channel Details > Channel Type, click the edit icon.
    Screenshot 2024-05-09 at 11.12.28 PM.png
  4. Select the desired channel type, then click Save
    Screenshot 2024-05-09 at 11.15.36 PM.png

Related Reading

  • Click here to learn more about using Dispatch Channels on the Zello Dispatch Hub. 
  • For instructions on how to create and set-up channels, including designating a channel type, go here.
 
 

Questions? Contact us or submit a new ticket for support-related inquiries.

Was this article helpful?

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.

2 out of 2 found this helpful