Choosing a channel type

Channels are used to facilitate group communications within your network. Unlimited channels can be created for a network, and an unlimited number of users can be added as members. The number of users that can be online at one time within a channel is 10000. Click here to learn how to create a channel. 

Channel types allow Admins to customize their channels by defining what user functions are allowed. The channel type is set and edited from the Management Console. There are three types of channels, and these are the user functions allowed on each: 

 

Team

Dynamic

Hidden

Dispatch

Users see and can talk to others on the channel

Yes

Yes

No

No

Users see and can talk to others in their contact list

Yes

No

Yes

No

Users can disconnect from the channel

No

Yes

No

For dispatcher: Yes
For driver: No

 

Team Channels are ideal for those who need to communicate often, such as teams, departments, and workgroups. All users in the channel will see each other in their contact list and can contact another user for one-to-one communications.

Dynamic Channels allow users to connect and disconnect from the channel from their device. These channels are useful for groups where being online at all times is not necessary or convenient, but they can still connect as needed. For example, a supervisor can connect to a dynamic channel when he or she needs to talk to the team and then disconnect when done. Users in this channel will not be able to see each other on their contact lists or talk 1:1. 

Hidden Channels allow users to see and communicate one-on-one with other users listed on their contacts list, but prevents them from communicating with everyone in a channel. This is a convenient way to allow users to connect with other users privately instead of broadcasting their conversation to the entire channel. Hidden channels do not appear on the Channels screen within the app. 

Dispatch Channels allow:
a) dispatchers to hear and see all drivers' calls on their Dispatch Hub desktop app and
b) drivers to call in from their Android/iOS applications to enter a shared call queue handled by the dispatchers. Once a call is picked up by a dispatcher, the conversation is 1:1, dispatcher:driver. Drivers can never hear other drivers' calls or conversations.

Click here to learn more about using Dispatch Channels on the Zello Dispatch Hub. 

For instructions on how to create and set-up channels, including designating a channel type, go here.
 

Questions? Contact us or submit a new ticket for support-related inquiries.

Was this article helpful?

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.

1 out of 1 found this helpful