Zello Work Guide: iOS

This guide walks iOS users through Zello Work's basic functionality. For specific information about features, settings, updates, and more, see our Zello Work knowledge base

Table of Contents: 

  1. Zello Work basics 
    1. Sign in 
    2. Communication types
    3. UI: top navigation
    4. UI: bottom navigation
    5. Settings 
  2. Sending a message
    1. Voice
    2. PTT button
    3. Text/image
    4. Alerts
  3. Managing Zello Work 
    1. Message history
    2. Changing your status
    3. Contacting support
    4. Additional Reading

Zello Work basics

Installation and sign in 

Open the Zello app and tap the Zello Work link—located at the bottom of the screen—to log in with your username, password, and network name

For information regarding installing and signing in to your Zello Work account, see this support article.

Communication types (1:1, 1:many, 1:all)

There are three main message types on Zello: 

  • One-to-one: direct communications between two users. 
  • One-to-many: targeted group communications. 
    • Network channels are created by admins through the management console, and provide a space to facilitate communications with a select group of users.
    • If enabled by the admin, ad-hoc group conversations can be created in the app as-needed by users across the network. These are best suited for temporary group communications.
  • One-to-all: messages sent to all users across the network. 

UI: top navigation 

Tap your user icon (1) to access your status, accounts, and settings. 

Tap the + button (2) if you’d like to create a new ad-hoc (group) conversation. These can be created by any user at any time. Note that this icon is only available on the Recents tab. 

UI: bottom navigation 

At the bottom of your screen, there are three tabs: Recents, Contacts, and Channels.

  • The Recents tab prioritizes recently sent and received messages. This is especially useful if you’re messaging multiple channels and contacts at once. Messages shown here appear in the order they were received. 
  • The Contacts tab is where you’ll locate your contacts. From here, you can easily start (and later access) your 1:1 communications. 
  • The Channels tab shows all channels your network admin has assigned you to. Channels are only accessible via invitation from your network admin. Please note that ad-hoc group conversations will not appear here. 

Settings 

User-specific settings can be configured via your iOS device. These include audio settings, alert tones, device-specific history settings, PTT buttons, and in-app themes (light/dark mode). For more information on settings, see this article

Sending a message 

Voice

Voice messages are sent via Zello's PTT (push-to-talk) button, shown below: 

PTT functionality can be mapped to a paired device/headset, as well as the iPhone 15 Pro and Pro Max Action button.

PTT button

The PTT button defaults to hold-to-talk mode, which requires the user to press and hold the PTT button for the spoken message's duration. If you’d like to switch the PTT button to toggle mode—which allows you to press the button once to initiate recording the message, and then again to end that recording—navigate to Settings>Push-to-talk buttons>Screen Button in the app.

Text/image

To send a text or image message, navigate to the contact/channel you’d like to receive the communication. Tap inside the dialogue box at the bottom of the screen to type your message, then press the blue arrow to send.

For more information on text and image messaging, see this support article

Alerts

Call alerts allow users to contact others in their network for immediate or urgent matters. Once an alert is sent to a contact, the notification will persist until it has been replied to or cleared.

Users can use Call Alert in 2 ways:

1. Tap on the Call Alert icon (shown below). Type your message, then press send. 

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of users - admin.png

Once sent, the recipient will be notified of your alert via 3 loud, successive beeps. The beeps are repeated every 1 minute until the message is cleared to responded to. 

2. Long press the Call Alert icon to immediately send a default message "Zello me!"

Managing Zello Work

Message history

Message history allows users to re-listen to previously sent messages at any point in time. 

To configure your message history settings, tap your user icon (top left corner) and follow the pathway Settings>History.

To access your message history, select the intended contact/channel. Then, tap on the blue message icon in the top-right corner.

Changing your status 

There are 4 status options on Zello.

  • Available: incoming messages are played in real-time
  • Busy: audio messages are saved to your history; visual notifications of messages received
  • Offline: you’ll be notified of received messages upon signing in again. To others, your status will appear as Standby.
  • Solo: listen to messages from one contact or channel as they are sent; all other channels/contacts are muted. 

See this support article for more information on managing your status. 

Contacting support 

Zello’s in-house support team is available by both phone and email from 7:30AM to 7:30PM Monday through Friday. That said, users can submit a request via email (paidsupport@zello.com) at any time of the day.

Additional Reading: 

Questions? Contact us or submit a new ticket for support-related inquiries.

Was this article helpful?

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.

0 out of 0 found this helpful