Advanced Channel Settings

Network admins can enable and modify advanced, channel-specific settings through their Zello management console. These settings are yet another method for optimizing your Zello Work network to reflect your team’s communication environment and requirements. 

Table of Contents

1. How to configure a channel's advanced settings

2. Explanation of settings

a. Enable QuickConnect
b. Messages can be interrupted after
c. Max voice message duration
d. Time to re-deliver messages
e. Persist the last voice message for

 

How to configure a channel’s advanced settings

Advanced settings can be accessed via the management console. 

  1. Sign in to your network’s management console at yournetworkname.zellowork.com
  2. Navigate to the Channels tab. Then, select the channel you’d like to configure advanced settings for.
  3. Select the settings icon located at the top right corner of the Channel Details box.
  4. Configure the advanced settings as desired, then slick Save.
    Screenshot 2024-03-12 at 9.10.46 AM.png

Explanation of settings

Enable QuickConnect

  • Reduces the "ready to send" delay to zero, allowing Zello to instantaneously broadcast a message.
  • Results in faster connection times between two users.
  • Particularly beneficial for networks with a higher latency.
  • For more information on the QuickConnect feature, see this support article.

Messages can be interrupted after

  • Determines the duration a message can play before it is interrupted by another message.
  • Useful when two messages are sent concurrently. The message sent first will play for the intended duration, after which it'll be interrupted by the second message. 

Max voice message duration

  • Determines the maximum length of voice messages sent in the channel.
  • Increments include an unlimited duration; 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds; or 1, 2, or 5 minutes. 

Time to re-deliver messages

  • Determines the frequency that Zello will attempt to re-deliver messages to connected users in case of failure.
  • Beneficial if a user experiences a temporary network disconnection (for example, a momentary internet disruption).
  • This setting will only apply to the current list of recipients at the time the message is sent. 
  • Intention: delivery to connected users in case of failure. 

Persist the last voice message for

  • Enables a channel to cache a message and deliver it for a specified amount time, including to users who connect to the channel after the message is sent.
  • This ensures users who were not initially connected to the channel will receive the message if they sign in within the specified time frame. 
  • Intention: delivery to specified users regardless of connection status.

Questions? Contact us or submit a new ticket for support-related inquiries.

Was this article helpful?

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.

0 out of 0 found this helpful