Setting up an emergency call channel with user roles

Emergency channels may designate user roles in order to manage who is able to hear the user in distress, or to control if a user may disconnect from a dynamic or team channel.

For example, you may have a designated response team at your company that should be reached by all of your staff. In the emergency channel, you can set up your channel so that staff are only heard by the response team, and not other staff members.

For dynamic channels, you may also want to consider if you want response team members to be able to disconnect from the channel. If you do not want them to be able to disconnect, you will need to define their roles to keep them connected to the channel.

To create a user role for the response team:

  1. Select the designated Emergency Channel. Make sure this has been assigned under the Common settings.
  2. Add a Role.
  3. Define the Role.
    1. Name: Choose a name for the role, such as “Response team.”
    2. Type:
      1. Select “Speak to anyone” if you want Response team members to hear and talk to any channel users.
      2. Select “Speak to staff” if your Response team members sit together and you do not want to create an echo in the same room.
  4. If you want Response team members to remain connected to a dynamic channel, disable “Can disconnect from channel.”
  5. Select “Continue” and “Assign” to finalize the user role.

To create a user role for other staff members:

  1. Select the designated Emergency Channel. Make sure this has been assigned under the Common settings.
  2. Add a Role.
  3. Define the Role.
    1. Name: Choose a name for the role, such as “Staff.”
    2. Type:
      1. Select “Speak to anyone” if you want Staff members to hear and talk to any channel users.
      2. Select “Speak to selected roles: Response team” if you want Staff members to only hear and talk to those in the Response team. This would prevent other Staff members from being alerted of an Emergency and hearing the user in distress.
  4. If you want Staff members to remain connected to a dynamic channel, disable “Can disconnect from channel.”
  5. Select “Continue” and “Assign” to finalize the user role.

Questions? Email support@zellowork.com

Was this article helpful?

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.

0 out of 0 found this helpful