Web Admin and Common Network Management Console Settings

ZelloWork networks are highly customizable, allowing Admins to adjust user and device settings remotely from the Management Console. To go to your Management Console, type in your network's URL: networkname.zellowork.com. For example, if your network is named "mycompany59", the URL would be "mycompany59.zellowork.com". Sign-in with the username of admin and your password.

Accessing console settings 

  1. From the Management Console, select Settings from the taskbar.
  2. consolesettings.png
  3. From the right side-bar, select Web Admin or Common. These settings affect all devices on the network, regardless of platform.

NOTE: Settings noted with an asterisk * below can be set as the default using the Management Console. Users can change the default setting on their device and it will stay in effect until the user logs off. Once the user logs back in, the setting reverts back to the default on the Management Console.

Web Admin settings

Any settings changed here affect all users and channels on the network, regardless of device or platform.

Use Tags for Web Admin access: Turning on tags allows you to assign Sub-Admins to different user groups within your company's network. The more tags administrators have, the greater the restriction. This is because they will only be able to view and control those users and channels with the exact same tags. If some administrators have one tag, they will be able to see the users with that tag. If other administrators have two tags, they can only view the users with the two tags.

You can do a lot of things with tags. In fact, non-admin users might find it useful. For example, you can tag people who work in maintenance.  Once you have a maintenance Sub-Admin, the person will be able to make changes to all users tagged with "maintenance," instead of having to wait for the primary Admin to make these changes. (See tagging article.)

Enable limited access users: 
 
Use regular captcha instead of Google reCAPTCHA: 
 
Expiration time for SignOn Links:  Designates how long to keep SignOn Links active after their creation. The default is 48 hours. 
 
Send credentials in new user invites:
 

Common settings 

Any settings changed here affect all users and channels on the network, regardless of device or platform.

 

Sections: 

General

Image messaging: Enables image sharing by users. If turned off, users in the network will not be able to send images. 

Text messaging: Enables texting by users. If turned off, users in the network will not be able to send texts. 

 Call alert messaging: Enables call alerts between users. 

Allow profile images to be assigned and displayed:  Allows users to create and post profile pictures from their device, or for admins to choose a picture from the management console. If turned off, all profile pictures will be removed from the network. 

 Allow Ad Hoc group conversations: Allows users to create Ad Hoc groups for spontaneous private conversations with 2+ other users. 

Enable Favorite Contacts: Allows users to add favorite users and/or channels. 

 Send notifications on multi-device login: When enabled and an email address is attached to the user, Zello sends an email if more than one device is used for the user account

Disable TLS: Prevents Zello apps from using TLS to connect to the server. Use for connection troubleshooting only. 

Channel messages can be interrupted after: Time after which users can be interrupted by other users. This is a network-wide setting. For individual channel interrupt times, go to Channels the channels tab and select the channel. Then tap on the Settings icon (gear).

Maximum voice message duration:  Will automatically stop a voice message that goes longer than a certain length of time. For example, this is useful if someone accidentally holds down the talk button on a channel with a large number of users. 

Strong passwords

Sets minimum requirements for valid passwords. 

Enforce password complexity: Toggle on for “yes”, off for “no”. If toggled on, you can define the complexity parameters using the four fields below. 

Password minimum length: Increase minimum length required for passwords. Default minimum is 8 characters. Maximum is 255 characters.

Must contain uppercase and lowercase letters: Toggle on for “yes”, off for “no”.

Must contain at least one number: Toggle on for “yes”, off for “no”.

Must contain at least one nonalphanumeric character: Toggle on for “yes”, off for “no”. A nonalphanumeric character is any character other than A-Z (upper or lowercase) or 0-9. 

Location tracking

GPS Location Tracking: Enables location tracking for the network. In general, enabling tracking will increase battery drain on devices. 

Location report interval: How often to display location reports. If only periodic reports are needed, use the Auto (power-saving) option to reduce battery drain.

Enable tracking only when plugged in: Use to prevent battery drain. This is not recommended for users who are going to be up and about often, away from their device charger. 

Enable tracking only when battery level is above: Use to prevent the battery from being depleted by tracking at lower battery levels. 

Emergency Alerts

Note: Emergency Alerts are not included in every Zello subscription plan. For more information on the subscription types and pricing, see this page

Additionally, please note these settings will not do anything if you don’t have Emergency alerts as part of your Zello Work subscription. 

Assign a channel for emergency notifications: Provides a drop-down list of all of the channels in your network. Only users in the selected channel will be able to send and receive the emergency alerts. 

Emergency button press delay: Provides a drop-down list that will allow you to select the amount of time (0.5 to 5 seconds) that a user will have to hold down the emergency alert button before the alert will be sent to the channel. Choosing a longer time prevents false alerts.                                               

Require confirmation before sending an emergency alert: When enabled, prevents users from sending an emergency alert just by holding down the button. When the emergency button is pressed, the user will be asked to confirm if they would like to send the alert. 

Shared Devices 

Enable shared device accounts: Allow shift workers to use shared devices without sharing private information with coworkers. On the User page, toggle on ‘Shared device account’ in order to denote that the User is a Shared User. Find further information in this article

Require profile picture to start a shift: Require shift workers to add a photo when starting a shift in order to login to Zello 

 Require first and last name to start a shift: When toggled on, Shared Device users will have to add their name in order to login to Zello 

Automatically end shift when Zello is turned off: Enable to automatically end a shift when the Zello app is terminated.

 Automatically end shift when device is connected to charger (Android only): Enable to automatically end a shift when the phone is connected to a charger. Workers can override this shift termination manually.

 Dispatch Channels 

Time to automatically close idle active calls: Automatically close active calls when there are no messages sent or received for the specified amount of time.

Allow non-dispatchers to end calls in dispatch channels: When enabled, non-dispatchers will be able to end calls. Otherwise, only Dispatchers will be able to end calls.  

Autoplay pending call messages: Automatically play a call when it is added to the pending list.

 



Questions? Contact us or submit a new ticket for support-related inquiries.

Was this article helpful?

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.

0 out of 0 found this helpful