iOS Settings (In-App)

Zello Work’s device-specific settings can be managed through the Zello menu, located in the top-left corner of the app’s home screen. To access your settings: 

  1. Tap your user icon located at the top-left corner of your screen.
  2. Tap Settings

Copy of android language (6).png

Learn more about iOS settings managed through the admin console here

Audio Settings 

To access audio settings, open your Zello app and follow the pathway Settings > Audio.



Record over Bluetooth

Allows your iOS device to record messages via a connected Bluetooth device’s microphone.

  • Toggle ON: If using a bluetooth device’s microphone to send/record messages.
  • Toggle OFF: If you will not use the Bluetooth device’s microphone to record messages.

Play as a phone call with Bluetooth*

This option will play audio using hands-free profile (HFP).

  • ON: Turn on this setting if your Bluetooth device does not support A2DP (advanced audio distribution profile).
  • OFF: Turn off this setting if your Bluetooth device does support A2DP.

Mix with other audio

This setting determines if Zello’s audio can be played at the same time as audio from another app (for example, music).

  • ON: Turn on if you’d like to receive audio messages from Zello while concurrently using another app.
  • OFF:  Turn off if you’d like to prevent Zello audio from playing concurrently with other apps. 

Noise suppression

Noise suppression settings minimize background noise.

  • ON: Turn on to suppress ambient noise.
  • OFF: Turn off if audio is too quiet and/or stifled. 

Amplification

Digitally amplifies the recording level. This affects the volume at which the message is recorded. See this support article for assistance determining the amplification settings. 

  • AUTOMATIC: Any previously-set settings will be overridden. 
  • MANUAL: It’s best to incrementally alter these settings to prevent corruption of the audio quality. 
 *This setting will only appear if you’ve toggled ON the Record Over Bluetooth setting
 

Alert tone/ vibrate settings 

Settings > Alert tones / vibrate 

If you’d like to hear an alert tone when the following actions occur, toggle the alert ON. Alternatively, toggle the alert tones OFF if you don’t want to receive audio alerts for the actions. 

Audio

Ready to send The device is ready to record your message. You may begin speaking. 
Talk button up You’ve released the PTT button. 
Incoming message Your device has an incoming message. 
Incoming message ended You’ve reached the end of the message. 
Error An error has occurred. Common errors include a disabled microphone; connection difficulties; or busy channels. 
Incoming alert A call alert is incoming. 
Channel alert You’ve received a channel alert — targeted message sent by a user in a special role to an entire channel.
Connection lost You’ve been disconnected from the network. 
Connection restored You’ve been reconnected to the network after a period of disconnection. 
Signed in from a different device Your account has been signed into on a different device. 
Image messaging You’ve received an image. 
Location messaging Someone has sent you their location. 
Delivery delayed The delivery of your message has been delayed. 
New group conversation You’ve received a message in an ad-hoc group. For more information on group conversations, see this article. 
Text message You’ve received a text message from another user. 
Channel text message You’ve received a text message in a channel. 
Default contact selected Zello has switched to your default contact. Learn more about default contacts. 
Customize alerts  Select this option to customize your alert tones/sounds. 

Vibrate

Ready to send Your phone is ready to send a message. 
Incoming message A message is in the process of being delivered to your phone. 
Missed message  You missed a message while away. 

Visual

Show event notification banners when in the background  If a message is received while Zello is running in the background (i.e. you aren’t working directly in the app), a banner will appear on your screen notifying you of the message. 

 

History

Settings > History

Delete messages By default, messages sent and received on Zello will never be deleted from your conversation history. Use this setting if you’d like for messages to be deleted after a particular time period. 
Save sent images to photos Photos taken in the Zello app and sent to another user(s) will be saved to your device’s camera roll when this setting is turned ON. If turned OFF, images sent via Zello will not be saved to your camera roll. 
Preview webpages by long-pressing  When turned on, you can long-press a link to preview the page. When turned off, you can only see the webpage by clicking on the link. 

 

Push-to-talk buttons

Settings > Push-to-talk buttons

Configure the activation method of your PTT buttons from the Push-to-talk buttons page. Please note that all PTT buttons can be configured from this page, including the buttons of mapped hardware and accessories. 

Select your preferred PTT method from the following list: 

Hold to talk Press and hold the PTT button for the duration of message recording. 
Toggle Press the PTT button once to start the message’s recording, and then again to end the recording. 
Disabled Select if you’d like to disable the PTT button. This setting will likely pertain to a mapped PTT button. 

Please note: A new PTT button can be added via this screen. Press the Add New Device button if you'd like to map the PTT button to an accessory (such as a headset).  

 

Themes

Settings > Themes

Your selected theme determines Zello’s appearance. Select your preference from the Appearance menu. 

Light
Dark
Match System Appearance If your device is set to light mode, Zello will appear in light mode (and vice versa). 

 

Support > Advanced Settings

Settings > Support > Advanced Settings

From the support section, you’ll find in-app links to the Zello Work knowledge base, the ability to report a problem to our customer team, third-party information, and advanced settings.

The Advanced settings screen (pictured below) allows users to configure device-specific security, privacy, and network preferences. 

 

Advanced Settings

Call Setup
Asynchronous message delivery If toggled on, messages received while in Standby mode will queue. Once internet connection is restored and your Zello status returns to Available, these messages will autoplay. If toggled off, messages will not autoplay. 
Call pre-setup This setting minimizes delay for repeat calls to the same contact by sending frequent keep-alive packets during the 1-1 conversation. Disabling this setting may improve battery life at the expense of less predictable delay.
Networking (Mobile)
Use TCP only When turned on, your device will use TCP instead of UDP to facilitate device-to-device communication. TCP improves the connection reliability of your device, but may contribute to battery drain. 
Keep alive interval(s) A longer keep-alive interval uses less bandwidth and battery, but may contribute to delays in events like status changes. A shorter keep-alive interval may heighten battery drain, but ensures Zello remains active in the background. Learn more. 
Networking (WiFi)
Use TCP only When turned on, TCP will be used to facilitate device-to-device communication. TCP improves the connection reliability of your device, but may contribute to battery drain. 
Keep alive interval(s) A longer keep-alive interval uses less bandwidth and battery, but may contribute to delays in events like status changes. A shorter keep-alive interval may heighten battery drain, but ensures Zello remains active in the background. Learn more. 
Security 
Enable TLS

TLS is turned on by default. Since this setting is vital for the security of your network, we don't recommend disabling TLS unless directed by Zello. Learn more. 

Privacy
Disable analytics Collected analytics typically include app usage and events. 
Background
Keep alive When toggled on, this setting ensures Zello remains connected in the background. When turned off, Zello may experience message delivery delays. 

 

Questions? Contact us or submit a new ticket for support-related inquiries.

Was this article helpful?

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.

0 out of 0 found this helpful